Author Topic: 60s Fletcher V172 with inboard Jaguar straight 6  (Read 1918 times)

Offline Rob

• Canoe
60s Fletcher V172 with inboard Jaguar straight 6
« on: October 24, 2021, 10:11:29 PM »
Hello, to all
My name is Rob, and as lockdown started I needed a project. I bought a very old Fletcher with as I found out, a very old Jaguar engine inside.
   I know very little about the boat, found out a lot about Norman Fletcher as I've surfed the net.
The engine is/was a 3.8 S type, but with the wrong cylinder head, very SIEZED.
The cylinder head was from a XK140 engine, and once removed worth a lot of money, which I sold and now had funds to push on with project.
   The 3.8 ( what is left) was oversized by 20 thou on big ends and pistons, so not really worth a rebuild.
   The hull is sound, but transom is very soft, and will need replacing.
   I have another boat to get my fix, FAIRLINE Targa 33 with twin diesels, keeps me busy as well .
   I'm an electrician by trade, but like to think I can turn my hand to anything, and my friends are all very boat build,fix,maintain orientaded as well, which helps.
  I live in Southampton 10 min from the sea, which is a big bonus.
Thanks for now, will need a lot of help and advise.

Rob

Offline enginuitytriumph

• Support Members
  • Ski Boat
Re: 60s Fletcher V172 with inboard Jaguar straight 6
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2021, 10:42:29 PM »
Hi Rob, how very interesting !!! I never knew Fletcher used a Jag lump! It's not ideal unless it's running an intercooler to keep the raw water away from that alloy head, but who knew??
 I have a couple of contacts if you need the machining done on the engine & again if you want it rebuilt, but if it is raw water cooled then please consider an intercooler, it might save a lot of hard work, all too soon down the line!
  Please can you post some pics? I've never seen one & would love to see it!
Mark
If you don't know where to start... start somewhere, the rest falls into place.

Offline Rob

• Canoe